Home

17th October: ICA Exhibition

During the morning our class went to Harrods, Harvey Nichols and Selfridges food halls. The aim of this was to look at packaging. Harrods seemed the largest and the most impressive (– there was champagne worth over £7,000). There was also a large Christmas section, which made me feel very festive. Harvey Nichols had a good, and very bizarre confectionary section. Things such as scorpion lollies, brain jam and cubed earwax! Selfridges was also looking quite festive, and there was a sudden whiff of orange and cinnamon as we walked in. We didn’t get to see much of the Selfridges food hall as we had to meet our Tutors there for the exhibition.

The ICA exhibition was quirky and interesting. We watched the short film to start with, to get a sense of what the boxes meant. They were filled with ‘memorabilia’ from between the 80s and the present day, created by ‘young creatives’ from their time. Someone in the video said that the designers from the 80s help the designers of today, and it was a key point in time as you have to look at the past in order to look at the future, which I quite liked. Some boxes were strange and confusing, some just seemed like they were thrown together, and some were very appealing, amusing and clever. I took pictures of the ones I liked and will document them in my sketchbook. There was a second exhibition called “The Young Creatives” and that was based inside Selfridges. It was basically a small shop where you could buy things, but the best part about it was all the inflatables around the shop, it made it quite amusing and lifted my mood, it felt quite childish.

I found the exhibition quite useful. It wasn’t what I expected but I liked the concept of looking into a box and seeing someone’s specific past. I also liked seeing the ‘rebellious’ boxes with all the punk items, they were quite cool. Lastly, I liked that it was in the Selfridges Hotel, it was rustic and added to the image of going back into the past. The exhibition had a very particular taste – not my cup of tea, but there were parts I liked!

Here are some images of the boxes that I found particularly interesting.

DSC_0484 DSC_0486 DSC_0488 DSC_0490 DSC_0491 DSC_0493 DSC_0496 DSC_0497 DSC_0505

 

IMG_1976 IMG_1977 IMG_1978 IMG_1979

And here are the images I took for packaging purposes:

IMAG2625  IMAG2648 IMAG2646 IMAG2645  IMAG2642 IMAG2641  IMAG2636 IMAG2635  IMAG2633 IMAG2631

IMAG2629 IMAG2627

IMG_1975

Leave a Reply

